Home | About Us | Media | Gallery | Contact
Skip Navigation Links
ActivitiesExpand Activities
PublicationsExpand Publications
AwardsExpand Awards
She LeadsExpand She Leads
Seminars & ConferenceExpand Seminars & Conference
Gender EqualityExpand Gender Equality
Ageing WomenExpand Ageing Women

Dayawati Modi Stree Shakti Samman, instituted in 1998 by Stree Shakti, is an award by the women, for the women of the women, and in the memory of an extraordinary woman. It is awarded to ‘a woman who dared to dream and had the ability to translate her dream into reality.’ The late Dayawati Modi, a Karmayogini Sanyasini, was an ordinary woman with extraordinary qualities. Smt. Modi was a champion of women’s cause. She established schools and colleges in North India. Driven by the motto ‘Work is Worship’. During her lifetime, she received prestigious awards for her social and cultural activities. Smt. Modi is today a legend.

We are privileged to confer on Dr Heena Vijay Kumar Gavit, the Dayawai Modi Stree Shakti Samman for year 2018-19.

Current Recipient:

Dr Heena Vijay Kumar Gavit

Previous Recipients:

Anula de Silva - Writer and Journalist
Lily Thapa - Founder of Women for Human Rights
Ms. Ruma Roka - Founder of the Noida Deaf Society.
Rashmi Singh - Eminent Artist as winner of 2012 Dayawati Modi Stree Shakti Samman.
Seema Kohli - Eminent Artist as winner of 2011 Dayawati Modi Stree Shakti Samman.
Krishna Poonia - the first Indian woman to win the Gold Medal in Common Wealth Games 2010 in New Delhi. Awarded the Dayawati Modi Stree Shakti Samman Award for 2010.
Jetsun Pema - the younger sister of His Holiness The Dalai Lama. We are pleased to confer on her the Dayawati Modi Stree Shakti Samman for year 2009.
Smt. Madhavi Mudgal (Delhi) for Indian Classical Dance, 2008.
Ms. Revathy Menon (Bangalore) for Films, 2007.
Justice Ruma Pal (Kolkata) for Justice and equality in 2006.
Smt. Kanchan Chaudhary Bhattacharya (Uttaranchal) as IPS (DGP) in 2005.
Smt. Laina Raveendran Greene (Singapore) for Entrepreneurial skills in 2004.
Smt. Usha Rai (New Delhi) for Journalism in 2003.
Smt. Anjolie Ela Menon (New Delhi) for 'Leading Artist' in 2002.
Smt. Madhushree Dutta (Mumbai) for her 'Docu-Feature' Films in 2001.
Smt. Mangi Devi (Jaipur) for Rural Work in 2000.
Smt. Vidya Bal (Pune) for Parallel Journalism in 1999.
Smt. Usha Ganguly (Kolkata) for Interactive Theatre in 1998.
Contents are copyright of STREESHAKTI 2009-2021
Designed by www.avsolutions.in